Sleep Games

We are very proud to announce the forthcoming LP on Ghost Box.

Titled ‘Sleep Games’, it will be available as a 14 track LP, a 16 track CD, and a digital download version.

The entire package is going to look amazing, with design by Julian House (of course) and a very interesting missive discovered by Mark Fisher (k-punk). The audio has been beautifully mastered for stereo reproduction by Jon Brooks.

Eager beavers can listen to selected highlights over on the Ghost Box Soundcloud page. All being well, the release date is slated to be 19th October 2012. Put that in your diary/calendar/smartphone/wherever.

Track listing:

1. Sleep Games
2. The Black Mill Video Tape
3. Print Through
4. Deep End
5. Into the Maze
6. Experimental Road Surface
7. Yesterday’s Entertainment
8. The Mirror Ball Cracked
9. Palais Spectres
10. Remanence
11. A Door in the Dry Ice
12. A Non-Place
13. Underneath the Dancefloor
14. Nostalgia Pills
and on CD/download:
15. Chlorine
16. Nature Reclaims the Town



All Pathways Open…

Right then, our Head Technician has sworn that he will have the next instalment of Black Mill Tapes ready for us by the end of January.

Volume 3:All Pathways Open comprises a further twelve tracks lovingly transferred from those now fabled 1/4″ and cassette tapes.

The Advisory Circle kindly lent a hand and retransferred ‘Electronic Rhythm Number Eighteen’ for which we are very grateful. Our Head Technician tells us this particular segment had been giving him a fair bit of trouble, so the help was appreciated.

Once again it will be available for purchase on our bandcamp page for the sum of £5.99.

Previews will be going up on the SoundCloud page in due course.

UPDATE: Release date now confirmed as 23rd January 2012.

We shall release…

Black Mill Tapes Volume 2:Do You Synthesize? on April 11th.

It will once again be available here for the princely sum of £4.99

You can get a sneak peek at the tracklisting over there.

Don’t forget, you may catch a glimpse of our Head Technician at the Komedia in Brighton on April 14th. He’s playing a set at the Belbury Youth Club night at The Outer Church. Tickets available at the Komedia website.

Playlist Society review…

Here’s a Borg (Google) translation of a rather nice review of “Black Mill Tapes Vol 1.” at Playlist Society. 

My thanks to twitterite @_Ulrich_ for the kind words. 

Original article is here:

“I have some end of the world albums that I like. Albums that remove the film of life with a simple gesture, and I know full well that they can accompany me until morning, waiting to be quiet with the first rays of sun. A disc can also be a meeting of the world’s end, some lines written on a website or a few characters thrown enigmatically on a social network. Either we should move on, or our curiosity is drawn to this strange elsewhere, calling us in silence. A chance encounter that in other times would not have happened at that time, but years later. 

Face it, I would never have listened to Pye Corner Audio Transcription Services if, at the beginning of this month, the British magazine Wire had not tweeted their interest in this disc. I have never regretted that click since there is not a day where I do not listen to some tracks. 

Black Mill Tapes Vol. 1 is a thinly disguised tribute to the work of the former radio entity, a cult, the now famous BBC Radiophonic Workshop, which popularize better than most electronic music on the BBC (radio and TV) through its jingles and sound effects. The trademark sound of the BBC until 1998 was signed by the musicians of this British public service. Few know that the series Doctor Who was made in the workshop and a woman who is more, Delia Derbyshire. Black Mill Tapes Vol. 1 pays tribute to that time (blessed by the gods, some would say) where the music was created to serve the common good and general. And it is not insignificant that the title track We Have Visitors is a snap leaning on Doctor Who theme, adding an undeniable kosmische dimension. The eleven tracks on the album draw on the collective memory of the old lady. Short pieces that have the desire to forge an atmosphere of another time and the end of carnival. We can consider this bias lunar leave nothing to chance and the state. This digital work has permeated the historical necessity and carries with it a natural imprint, a thread that leads us on paths through known and sometimes unexpected. Individually, the titles of Black Mill Tapes Vol.1 accompany a harmless the listener, as a complete work it induces the existence of a natural material, an intuitive knowledge of a kinetic law and film. 

Better than elsewhere, this disc gives reason to Jacques Derrida when it told us that the past is now haunting the present. This disc nostalgic know-how of his interviews a spectropoétique electronics, devised by what we guess a few mad scientists, retired from the world, in a studio in London. Everyone knows, the BBC Radiophonic Workshop is dead, distressingly buried for economic reasons but it is reassuring that their spirit lives on.


…you get the gist!

Seasonal adjustments…

Well, ‘Black Mill Tapes Vol. 1’ has been out about a week now. Many thanks to those who have already bought it, and to those that have yet to…what are you waiting for? Go get it!

The Head Technician would also like to take this opportunity to thank all the fine folks who have provided support and encouragement along the way…you know who you are, and if you don’t, this is me telling you!

Embrace winter with Pye Corner Audio…

As you may know, the first fruit of our Head Technician’s labour, ‘Black Mill Tapes Volume 1’ is unleashed this Sunday, the 31st of October.

Featuring 10-and-a-bit tracks of analogue ambience, proto-dancefloor inventions and haunted tape-echo abuse, it’s the ideal accompaniment to fireside meditation (pipe not mandatory).

These fine fellows agree…

“There’s a lot to love in the Pye Corner Audio world” Jon Brooks – The Advisory Circle, DD Denham

“This is wonderful” Warren Ellis

…will you?

The Information

Full track listing:
1. Transmission One:Lonesome Vale
2. We Have Visitors
3. Folk Festival
4. Electronic Rhythm Number Three
5. A Dark Door
6. Theme Number Four
7. Electronic Rhythm Number Eight
8. Building Twelve, Room One
9. Theme Number Nine
10. Transmission Three:Briar Lane

Total running time: 28 minutes

Release date: 31st October 2010 via Bandcamp
Price: £4.99